Forum on Institutional Effectiveness

Responsibilities of the Forum

The Forum on Institutional Effectiveness is responsible for the following activities:

  • increase awareness of how assessment is used at Syracuse University to improve teaching/learning and institutional processes
  • provide a collaborative forum to sustain Syracuse University’s student learning outcomes assessment and institutional effectiveness initiatives
  • utilize data to facilitate discussions and implement actions that support the academic strategic plan
  • advise the University, its faculty, and administrative leaders on assessment and accreditation activities; such activities include:
    • internal and external reporting
    • setting standards for establishing student learning and success outcomes and conducting assessment across the University’s programs/units
    • identification of strengths and limitations of current assessment practices
    • recommendations for resource allocation to enhance the university assessment practices to ensure successful accreditation
  • interpret Middle States accreditation standards and policy

Forum Members

The Forum on Institutional Effectiveness is comprised of members representing the schools, colleges, and divisions directly responsible for the student learning experience at Syracuse University, as well as the Graduate Student Organization and Student Association.

Kyle Miller
School of Architecture
kjmill03@syr.edu

Daekwon Park
School of Architecture
dpark103@syr.edu

Scott Erdman
The College of Arts and Sciences
seerdman@syr.edu

Gerry Greenberg
The College of Arts and Sciences
ggreenbe@syr.edu

Kal Alston
School of Education
kalston@syr.edu

Michelle Blum
College of Engineering and Computer Science
mmblum@syr.edu

Eileen Lantier
David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics
elantier@syr.edu

Jennifer Stromer-Galley
iSchool
jstromer@syr.edu

Peggy Takach
iSchool
pmtakach@syr.edu

Keith Bybee
College of Law
kjbybee@syr.edu

Aliza Milner
College of Law
amilner@syr.edu

Alex McKelvie
The Martin J. Whitman School of Management
mckelvie@syr.edu

Lindsay Quilty
The Martin J. Whitman School of Management
lquilty@syr.edu

Carol Faulkner
Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
cfaulkne@syr.edu

Aileen Gallagher
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
aegallag@syr.edu

Martha Sutter
College of Visual and Performing Arts
mlsutter@syr.edu

Andrea Willis
College of Professional Studies
ajwillis@syr.edu

Kennia Delafe
Graduate Student Representative
kdelafe@syr.edu

Margaret Usdansky
Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence
mlusdans@syr.edu

Gabby Chapman
Graduate School
ghchapma@syr.edu

Michael Morrison
Information Technology Services
memorr02@syr.edu

Seth Ovadia
Office of Institutional Research
saovadia@syr.edu

Kalpana Srinivas
Student Experience
ksrini01@syr.edu

Petra Hejnova
Syracuse Abroad
phejnova@syr.edu

Jerry Edmonds
Academic Affairs | Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
gedmonds@syr.edu

Fresenai Afeworki
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
ftesfaia@syr.edu

Laura Harrington
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
lalvut@syr.edu

Melissa Lowry
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
malowry@syr.edu

Amanda Johnson Sanguiliano
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
aljohn07@syr.edu

Diane Bloom
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
taoliver@syr.edu

Chris Johnson
Academic Affairs
cejohns@syr.edu