University Assessment and Accreditation Committee (UAAC)

Responsibilities of the UAAC

The University Assessment and Accreditation Committee (UAAC) is responsible for the following activities:

  • increase awareness of how assessment is used at Syracuse University to improve teaching/learning and institutional processes
  • provide a collaborative forum to sustain Syracuse University’s student learning outcomes assessment and institutional effectiveness initiatives
  • utilize data to facilitate discussions and implement actions that support the academic strategic plan
  • advise the University, its faculty, and administrative leaders on assessment and accreditation activities; such activities include:
    • internal and external reporting
    • standards for establishing student learning outcomes (academic programs) and goals and outcomes/objectives (co-curricular and functional areas) and conducting assessment
    • identification of strengths and limitations of current assessment practices
    • recommendations for resource allocation to enhance the university assessment practices to ensure successful accreditation
  • interpret Middle States accreditation standards and policy

UAAC Members

The University Assessment and Accreditation Committee (UAAC) is comprised of members representing the schools, colleges, and divisions directly responsible for the student learning experience at Syracuse University, as well as the Graduate Student Organization and Student Association.

Lawrence Davis
School of Architecture
ldavis@syr.edu

Brian Lonsway
School of Architecture
blonsway@syr.edu

Scott Erdman
The College of Arts and Sciences
seerdman@syr.edu

Gerry Greenberg
The College of Arts and Sciences
ggreenbe@syr.edu

Kal Alston
School of Education
kalston@syr.edu

Riyad Aboutaha
College of Engineering and Computer Science
rsabouta@syr.edu

Gabby Chapman
Graduate School
ghchapma@syr.edu

Eileen Lantier
David B. Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics
elantier@syr.edu

Peggy Takach
iSchool
pmtakach@syr.edu

Art Thomas
iSchool
apthomas@syr.edu

Keith Bybee
College of Law
kjbybee@syr.edu

Aliza Milner
College of Law
amilner@syr.edu

Alex McKelvie
The Martin J. Whitman School of Management
mckelvie@syr.edu

Lindsay Quilty
The Martin J. Whitman School of Management
lquilty@syr.edu

Carol Faulkner
Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
cfaulkne@syr.edu

Aileen Gallagher
S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
aegallag@syr.edu

Ralph Lorenz
College of Visual and Performing Arts
ralorenz@syr.edu

Andrea Willis
University College
ajwillis@syr.edu

Martha Diede
Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence
madiede@syr.edu

TBD
Enrollment and the Student Experience

Nicholas W. Mason
Graduate Student Organization
gsointernalvp@syr.edu

Kathy Kinney
Information Technology Services
kdkinney@syr.edu

Seth Ovadia
Office of Institutional Research
saovadia@syr.edu

Stephanie Hausman
Student Association
shausman@syr.edu

Petra Hejnova
Syracuse Abroad
phejnova@syr.edu

Gerald Edmonds
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment | Academic Affairs
gedmonds@syr.edu

Gabe Coleman
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
gbcolema@syr.edu

Laura Harrington
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
lalvut@syr.edu

Melissa Lowry
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
malowry@syr.edu

Amanda Johnson Sanguiliano
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
aljohn07@syr.edu

Trish Oliver Simmons
Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
taoliver@syr.edu

Chris Johnson
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Ex Officio